Forum Virium Helsinki members get the best possible insight into Helsinki’s development into an open and smart city.

What’s more, the members can get involved in projects at the planning stage. Member companies also help steer Forum Virium Helsinki’s actions. This is done through the Steering Group and the Board of Directors. The Steering Group decides upon the strategy, the action plan, budget and the acceptance of new members as well as initiating and terminating projects.

CGI is a global business with 65,000 professionals in 40 countries, who provide end-to-end IT and business process services that facilitate the ongoing evolution of our clients’ businesses.

Sitra is an independent public fund under the supervision of the Finnish Parliament. Its central task is to promote social wellbeing.

Cisco Systems develops, manufactures and sells networking hardware, telecommunications equipment and other high-technology services and products.

Sponda is a real estate investment company that specializes in leasing business premises and developing and owning properties. Sponda’s office, retail and logistics properties are located in the largest cities in Finland and Russia.

Demos Helsinki is an independent think tank.

Tekes finances and promotes the R&D projects and innovation activities of Finnish enterprises, universities, higher education institutions and research institutes.

Elisa is an international communications services provider.

Telia is a leading telecommunications solutions provider.

Helen Ltd’s energy production is awarded as the most efficient in the world. Helen has almost 400,000 customers throughout Finland and it’s district heat covers over 90% of Helsinki’s heating needs. Helen Ltd’s energy production is awarded as the most efficient in the world.

Tieto provides IT, product development and consulting services in the Nordic countries. In some segments, its operations are global.

Helsinki is the capital of Finland. Over 1.3 million residents live in the metropolitan area. As an economic centre, it provides 738,100 jobs.

VTT is Northern Europe’s largest applied research organisation, which produces a wide range of technology services and research services both for domestic and international customers in both the private and public sectors.

IBM manufactures and sells computer hardware and software, and it offers infrastructure, hosting and consulting services in areas ranging from mainframe computers to nanotechnology.

Yle is the Finnish state broadcasting corporation.


chair: Director of Economic Development Marja-Leena Rinkineva, City of Helsinki

CIO Markku Raitio, City of Helsinki

director, Information and Technology Services Mikko Pitkänen, Elisa

Deputy Country General Manager Kaija Sellman, IBM Finland

Head of Data Administration, Culture and leisure Jussi Vehviläinen, City of Helsinki

director Mika Malin, Forum Virium Helsinki

Steering group

chair: Markku Raitio, City of Helsinki

CGI – Sohvi Puro (Olli Herttuainen)
Cisco – Tommi Katainen (Juhapekka Santamäki)
City of Helsinki – 
Santtu von Bruun
Demos Helsinki – Tuuli Kaskinen (Olli Bremer)
DIMECC – Ülo Parts (Essi Huttu)
EIT Digital – 
Marko Turpeinen
Elisa – 
Kari Lehtinen (Mikko Pitkänen)
Federation of Finnish Technology Industries – Helena Soimakallio
Finnish Broadcasting Company (YLE)
 – Anssi Komulainen (
Petri Home)
Helen – 
Perttu Lahtinen
IBM – 
Susanne Nygård
Metropolia – Anna-Maria Vilkuna (Päivi Haho)
Ministry of traffic and communications – Emil Asp
Sitra – 
Marja Pirttivaara
Sponda – 
Kari Autio
 – Karin Wikman (Ilmari Absetz)
 – Ainokaisa Saarinen (Pekka Isomäki)
Tieto – 
Pekka Karimaa
 (Jukka Huttula)
 – Caj Södergård (
Harri Nurmi)